Coconut Milk Curry

A HUGE fave around the table in my house. I made this last night and we were licking our fingers.

Ingredients:
1/2 onion
canola oil
1 clove garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1 can coconut milk
1 teaspoon sugar, 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
1 pound jumbo shrimp, cooked, peeled, deveined + 2 cups of frozen peas

1. In oil, saute onion and garlic until softer

2. Add cumin, coriander, and curry powder. Cook for 1 more minute

(My cumin is seed but I just smash it with my pestle and mortar)

3. Stir in coconut milk, sugar, and crushed red pepper flakes (or not if you don’t like too spicy). Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 2 minutes.

4. Stir in shrimps and peas, increase heat to medium high. Cook and stir until shrimp is cooked through, about 4 minutes.

Voila

The original recipe does not call for peas but I found this to be a great way to add some veggies to the dish. I serve it on white rice, but you could cut up some potatoes and throw them in the curry. Or if you can find some Indian cheese, cut it up and add it to it.

I buy my shrimps and peas flash frozen at Costco, because they are great quality and they allow me to feed my family for a while. My bag of shrimps last at least 3 dinners. I use about 6 shrimps per person and that seems to be enough.

Enjoy!

Tags:

Categories: Dinner

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

made by mike

Just another WordPress.com site

Protein Art

by May K.

Octavia and Vicky

Play | Technology | Food | Life

Mariis' explorations of digital remediation

- in vocational research, teaching, and learning

Coffee & Power

Our Workclub app connects you to nearby professionals

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

