Men Eat Quiche

Tonight’s dinner: mushroom&bacon quiche and a side of green salad in balsamic vinaigrette.

Ingredients for the dough:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup shortening
4 to 5 tablespoon cold water

Ingredients for the egg mixture:
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
ground nutmeg

1 can of sliced mushrooms
4 slices of bacon

Let’s start with combining the ingredients for the dough in the following order: flour and salt, then mix the shortening to the flour mix.

Once it has a sand-looking consistence, add water little by little until you can form a ball that does not stick too much.

Transfer the flattened dough to a buttered and floured pie plate. My dough seems to have some dark dots on it. That’s because I crumbled some dry basil leaves (dried earlier this year from my garden) in the dough. I like to add certain herbs to the dough depending on the recipe.

Cover the pastry with foil and drop about a pound or 2 of beans (whatever you can spare for this purpose) to help keep the dough in place while it cooks. Do not poke the dough with a fork. Bake for 5 minutes in 450F oven, and then 7 to 10 minutes at 350F. Remove the beans from the pastry at the last 5 minutes. ( I reuse these beans for specifically this purpose). Be careful, the foil and the beans are very VERY hot. Put outside the oven when done.

While the pastry bakes, let’s combine the ingredients for the egg mixture in a bowl: milk, eggs, nutmeg. Put aside.

In a frying pan, add a little bit of oil, the mushrooms, and the bacon sliced in small pieces. Once the bacon has cooked and the mushrooms have browned a little, drain the fat.

Pour the egg mixture and the bacon/mushrooms in the pie plate. Cover with foil. Put in 375F oven for 40 minutes (more or less. You know your own oven)

The quiche is ready when the egg mixture does not move when you knock the pan gently. If the mixture still behaves like a liquid, leave it for another 10 to 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

If you are wondering how I make the balsamic vinaigrette, there is nothing simpler: olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. I am a bit of a snob with my vinaigrette, so I use cracked sea salt and cracked black pepper that I shake over the salad instead of in the oil/vinegar mix. I think it tastes different. Oil to vinegar ratio is traditionally 3 to 1, but I like it with more vinegar. Personal taste.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Dinner

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Men Eat Quiche”

  1. amy
    April 4, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Yum! I like to add a dollop of dijon mustard and a clove of garlic to my balsamic vinagrette!
    I have always used heavy cream but next time I am gonna try with milk. Sounds delicious. I miss you!

    • sabinereljic
      April 4, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      Oooooooooooooh, i know all about heavy cream. That’s definitely how we make it back home, but I’ve had to switch to a recipe that’s a bit more weight conscious. However, I would use heavy cream if I were to do a quiche with vegetables instead of bacon. My grandma used to add dijon and chives to her vinaigrette. I really liked that too.

  2. April 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I love that old line, the original version. My dad always says it when I make quiche.

    • sabinereljic
      April 10, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      😀

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

made by mike

Just another WordPress.com site

Protein Art

by May K.

Octavia and Vicky

Play | Technology | Food | Life

Mariis' explorations of digital remediation

- in vocational research, teaching, and learning

Coffee & Power

Our Workclub app connects you to nearby professionals

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

