French Toasts

The kids are off this week, so this means late lazy mornings with the occasional special breakfast. This morning, it’s French toast…or in French we call them ‘pain perdu’ (lost bread) because we traditionally use left over bread…the slices that have turned slightly hard at the end of the week.

If I don’t have hard bread (because we decided to visit the ducks and geese at Miramar lake for example), I will toast what I have and let it cool and harden before I use it.

Ingredients:

hard bread

milk (enough to fill the plate)
sugar (about 2 to 3 tablespoons. regular or confectioner. confectioner sugar will be absorbed faster by the milk though)
vanilla (2 to 3 tablespoons)
eggs (3 to 4)

Some people mix everything together. I don’t. In a soup plate, I mix milk, sugar and vanilla (yes, I like vanilla. I put it everywhere.). I pass the plate in the microwave for 1 minute to warm it up (this helps with melting the sugar in the milk)

In another plate, I scramble the eggs.

Put some oil in a frying pan. The oil must sizzle a little before you add your first french toast on it. So while it’s warming up,

take one slide of bread, dip it in the milk mixture first (not too long or the bread will fall apart), and then dip in the egg mixture enough to coat it on both sides.

Put in your frying pan. Lower the heat to low, fry for a minute, then flip the toast to cook on the other side.

Voila. I like mine just like that, or with some honey on them. My kids like to smother them with maple syrup, my parents like to add some butter on them, a friend of mine will sprinkle cinnamon powder…

Bon Appetit!

Tags:

Categories: Dessert

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “French Toasts”

  1. April 4, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Yum! Lucy LOVES French Toast. Might have to try your method this week!
    ~Elena

    • sabinereljic
      April 4, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      Tell me how it worked for you! How differently do you make yours?

  2. April 4, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I just mix the milk and eggs together (and I also use vanilla and sugar). I’ll have to try separating them. Also, melting the sugar in the milk is a good idea. šŸ™‚ I’ll let you know how it tastes.

  3. sabinereljic
    April 19, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Thanks for the ping Rhianna!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. French Toast « Rhianna's Guide to Ethical Eating - April 19, 2012

    […] French Toasts (thetechfoodie.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

made by mike

Just another WordPress.com site

Protein Art

by May K.

Octavia and Vicky

Play | Technology | Food | Life

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Mariis' explorations of digital remediation

- in vocational research, teaching, and learning

Coffee & Power

Our Workclub app connects you to nearby professionals

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

