photo tutorial for a twine lampshade

DSC_0820

 

photo tutorial for a twine lampshade

I first saw this on Pinterest, but there was no link attached. I recently found a new link http://www.pinterest.com/pin/251990541624658114/ and gave it a try.

The difference with the tutorial on Pinterest was that I used jute twine cord (Home Depot), and a beach ball (that was bound for the garbage bin). The other difference is that I did not wait 48 hrs for it to dry.

For the first round of twine circling the beach ball, I smothered the twine with glue. Personally, I just dropped glue on the tips of my fingers in my left hand and run the twine through it, while with my other hand, I lay the twine on the beach ball.

2- Because I don’t have much patience, I started wrapping the beach ball with the twine without adding any glue, and always avoiding the circle that must remain free of twine.

3- once I felt that the ball of twine looked good (not too thick so that the light from the light bulb is not darkened too much), I cut the twine from the rest and started dropping glue all over it, quarter by quarter, massaging the glue into the twine, specifically where many strings met.

4- I left the beach ball alone throughout the night and in the morning, tested the solidity of the stiffed twine by sliding a finger, then my hand between the ball and the twine.

5-By deflating the beach ball, I was able to reach all around it to separate the twine from the beach ball. Deflate it a bit further and it was enough to pull it through the hole.

6-i noticed that some strings were a bit loose on the inside. That did not bother me as long as the outside was solid. If that bothers you, add more glue. It dries clear.

DSC_0817

7-some areas had obvious dried blobs of glue. That was easy to remove. The rest had dried to a transparent sheen.

DSC_0818

8-I had to cut my new lampshade to make the opening wider so that I can slide the thingamabob that held the light bulbs in my restroom. I cut on the side where the glue had stiffened the twine the most, so that I was sure that my lampshade would not unravel.

DSC_0819

9-Because I am lazy, i just turned the lampshade so that the opened side does not show (although, thanks to the stiffened twine, the cut is barely visible anyway). But when I get to it, I’ll just reapply from glue, or thread a string of twine to tie it close.

DSC_0820

Please share YOUR fun with this craft in the comment area.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Craft

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “photo tutorial for a twine lampshade”

  1. sabinereljic
    April 2, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    Do protect your work space. I cut open a paper bag from Trader Joe’s and worked over it. The glue won’t hurt your surface, but folding the paper bag over the dust of twine and dried glue is a lot faster than peeling off the dried glue from the table.

    How I draw a circle on the beach ball: I lay a dessert plate on top of it and draw around with a marker (I used a Crayola, you know those that can be washed, because my daughter wants her beach ball back…..)

  2. April 2, 2014 at 2:54 pm #

    Love, Love, Love!!! 🙂

  3. sabinereljic
    April 2, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

    Thanks. It is so easy, and the result is quite impressive. This is a craft that could be turned into a kid activity: making fairy lights with tennis balls as guide and plugging them on Christmas lights?

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

made by mike

Just another WordPress.com site

EdTech Insider

Insider look into virtual learning

Protein Art

by May K.

Octavia and Vicky

Play | Technology | Food | Life

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Mariis' explorations of digital remediation

- in vocational research, teaching, and learning

Coffee & Power

Our Workclub app connects you to nearby professionals

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

